Indianapolis Hotel History
Celebrating 100 years as Indianapolis’ longest running hotel
Located in the heart of downtown Indianapolis, Omni Severin Hotel is the city’s longest running luxury hotel and provides guests with a historical experience. The elegant landmark hotel embodies the grandeur of the early 1900s while offering guests modern amenities and superior service.
The Severin opened in 1913 as the Grand Hotel of Indianapolis. Until the late 1930s, the Severin thrived on the passenger trains coming in and out of Indianapolis on a daily basis. It was built by Henry Severin Jr. with help from the famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway founders Carl G. Fisher and James A. Allison. The building now stands as one of the last remaining structures in the Indianapolis Union Station Wholesale District and is part of the historic district.
The Severin Ballroom Lobby has always hosted an immense crystal chandelier, which has been hanging since 1913. The marble staircase is also from the original hotel. The original 1913 mailbox still serves as the working mailbox in the hotel today. Other original Hotel Severin furniture pieces can be found on the elevator landing of each floor.
Today, Omni Severin Hotel stands as the oldest and longest-running hotel in downtown Indianapolis.
The Omni Severin Hotel is also a member of Historic Hotels Worldwide®, which is dedicated to promoting heritage and cultural travel to prestigious historic treasures.